8 IPS officers from Bengal summoned by the ED in Delhi in coal smuggling case

They have been called on separate dates from August 22 to 31.

Eight IPS officers from West Bengal have been summoned by the Enforcement Directorate in connection with the coal smuggling case that is being probed by the Central agency. They have been called individually on different dates after August 15 at the ED’s Delhi office.

Earlier today, Trinamool Congress’ Birbhum district head, Anubrata Mondal, was arrested by the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) from Bolpur, about 160 km from Kolkata.

The eight IPS officers summoned by the ED are Gyanwant Singh, Rajiv Mishra, Sukesh Jain, Koteswar Rao, Shyam Singh, Tathagata Basu, Selva Murugan and Bhaskar Mukhopadhyay. Seven of them had been called by the ED earlier. Gyanwant Singh and Rajiv Mishra have been questioned earlier in this connection, and they have been called by the agency again.

These are the dates the following officers have been summoned:

Gyanwant Singh, ADG STF: August 22

Koteswar Rai, SO (HQ) ACB WB: August 23

Shyam Singh, DIG Civil Defence: August 24

Selva Murugan, SP Purulia: August 25

Rajiv Mishra, ADG IGP, IB: August 26

Sukesh Jain, DIG Traffic: August 29

Tathagat Basu, SP, WBPRB: August 30

Bhaskar Mukherjee, SP (CIF): August 31

According to reports, these officers were posted in the area where illegal coal mining and smuggling took place and whether or not there were lapses on their part are being examined.

Comments are closed.