Seven police officers from Bengal removed by EC, including three from Murshidabad

Seven police officers were removed from various parts of West Bengal by the Election Commission before the elections. Of the seven, three are officers from Murshidabad, where elections will be held in the third phase tomorrow.

These include officers from Samserganj, Raghunathganj and Farakka.

The other officers removed from elsewhere in Bengal are SDPO Bishnupur and officers from Barabani, Andal and Bijpur.

Earlier, police superintendent of Malda district, Arnab Ghosh, was removed by the Election Commission, just three days before voting takes place in the district.

The two parliamentary seats in Malda district – Maldaha Uttar and Maldaha Dakshin votes on April 23. In the third phase, Uttar Dinajpur’s Balurghat will also go to the polls along with two other seats from Murshidabad district – Jangipur and Murshidabad.

Weeks back, four senior police officers from West Bengal, including the police commissioners of Kolkata and Salt Lake had been shifted out of their positions.

Following that, the police superintendent of Cooch Behar district was removed just two days before elections in that district. Eyebrows were raised after the removal of the Cooch Behar SP as Bharatiya Janata Party leader Mukul Roy had openly threatened the SP at a public meeting in presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi a few days earlier.

Comments are closed.