Trinamool Congress’ 63 councillors, 2 MLAs move to greener pastures, join the BJP

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s huge success in the Lok Sabha polls in West Bengal has led to the obvious: a large number of lawmakers and councillors from the Trinamool Congress joined the BJP today.

At a press conference in New Delhi, BJP’s Mukul Roy and Kailash Vijayvarghiya announced that 63 Trinamool Congress councillors from three municipal bodies – Kanchrapara, Halishahar and Naihati in North 24 Paraganas – have joined the BJP. The number equation has thus led all three municipality boards under Trinamool Congress going to the BJP.

Mukul Roy’s son Subhrangshu Roy – Trinamool Congress lawmaker from Bijpur who was suspended from the party two days back – formally joined the BJP today. Asked why it took him so long to join the BJP when the senior Roy had joined the party two years back, Mukul Roy said: “You must know political strategies – it means ‘stay with the Trinamool Congress but help in the voting of the BJP’.”

The other Trinamool Congress lawmaker to join the BJP was Tushar Bhattacharya from Bishnupur constituency. CPI(M)’s Hemtabad lawmaker Debendranath Roy, also joined the BJP today.

Comments are closed.