Vishwa Bharati attack on students: committee headed by High Court ex-Chief Justice to probe

A three-member committee has been formed to probe into the incident of attack in Vishwa Bharati University that took place on Wednesday. The committee will also probe into the gherao of Rajya Sabha MP Swapan Dasgupta for several hours by the university students.

The committee will be headed by Jyotirmay Bhattacharya, former acting Chief Justice of Calcutta High Court. It will also have Dulal Chandra Ghosh and Manju Mohan Mukherjee – both executive council members of the university. The committee has been asked to submit its report within a month to the Vice-Chancellor of the university.
Dasgupta was gheraoed for several hours inside the university campus by students on January 8 when he went there to speak on the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA). Two students, Swapnanil Mukhopadhyay and Debabrata Nath were allegedly beaten up by members of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) on Wednesday night. Both are members of the Left students’ union, Students’ Federation of India (SFI). SFI members said that Wednesday night’s attack on them was a retaliation of the events of January 8.
The attackers, who were caught on CCTV cameras, were identified to be Achintya Bagdi and Shabir Ali. They were alleged to have led the attack and are part of the ABVP.

However, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president in Bengal, Dilip Ghosh, on Thursday had denied that ABVP was involved in the attack.

Comments are closed.