4 special observers arrive this week, 500 observers for Bengal Assembly polls

Elections in Bengal start from March 27.

Four special observers assigned by the Election Commission of India for the West Bengal Assembly elections will be in the state this week. They are scheduled to arrive on March 6 and 7.

Ajay Naik, former chief electoral officer of Bihar will be one of the special observers. Two special police observers for Bengal will be Vivek Dubey and Mrinal Kanti Das. There will also be B Murlikumar, retired IRS.

In addition to these special observers, there will be 500 observers for the state altogether for the 294 constituencies. This includes general observers and police observers, who will look at not only specific complaints, but also overall supervise the elections, deployment of forces and expenditure of candidates.

According to the chief election commissioner Sunil Arora, the number of polling booths has increased to over 1 lakh this time, an increase of 31.65 per cent. This also means more polling personnel and security personnel will be required this time.

Elections will be held in eight phases in West Bengal — from March 27 to April 29. Results will be out on May 2.