A sudden hike in the number of Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) cases has led the West Bengal government impose fresh lockdown in the containment and buffer zones of the state.

A fresh list has been created by the government for Kolkata, North 24 Parganas and Howrah. The remaining lists for the other districts are being prepared. The stricture will be imposed from July 9 at 5pm, and will be in place for a week and will be reviewed after that to determine whether it is to be extended or not. Some areas currently in the containment zones may be excluded and new areas may be brought in after that. There are 390 affected areas for these three districts — 25 in Kolkata, 146 in Howrah and 219 in North 24 Parganas.

Here is a list of the affected areas (containment zones) for Kolkata, Howrah and North 24 Parganas:

Containment zones in Kolkata

Containment zones in Howrah

Containment zones in North 24 Parganas

These are the activities to be closed in the containment and buffer zones:

*All offices – government and private

*All non-essential activities

*All congregations

*All transportation

*All marketing/industrial/trading activities

To receive links to all our stories via messages on your mobile phone and your email inbox, please subscribe to The Bengal Story.

Login Support us

You may also like