West Bengal Assembly election starts tomorrow, 30 seats go to polls

Eight-phase elections continue till April 29 in the state.

The first of the eight-phase elections in West Bengal will be held tomorrow, Saturday, March 27. In the first phase, elections are scheduled in 30 seats in five districts – Purulia, Jhargram, and parts of West Midnapore, Bankura and East Midnapore.

The seats that go to polls on Saturday are Patashpur, Kanthi Uttar, Bhagabanpur, Khejuri (SC), Kanthi Dakshin, Ramnagar, Egra, Dantan, Nayagram (ST), Gopiballavpur, Jhargram, Keshiary (ST), Kharagpur, Garbeta, Salboni, Medinipur, Binpur (ST), Bandwan (ST), Balarampur, Baghmundi, Joypur, Purulia, Manbazar (ST), Kashipur, Para (SC), Raghunathpur (SC), Saltora (SC), Chhatna, Ranibandh (ST) and Raipur (ST).

Phase two elections are slated on April 1 in 30 seats, on April 6 in phase three in 31 seats, on April 10 in 44 seats in phase four, on April 17 in phase five in 45 seats, on April 22 in phase six in 43 seats, on April 26 elections are scheduled in 36 seats in phase seven and in the eighth phase election will be held on April 29 in 35 seats. Results will be out on May 2.

The Trinamool Congress that has ruled West Bengal for two terms is facing a challenge from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which wants to wrest power this time. The CPIM-led Left Front and Congress along with the Indian Secular Front (ISF) have come together to form another opposing force.

Comments are closed.