2021 Bengal polls: Trinamool’s full candidate list on Friday, over 40 new faces?

Many old faces to go, some ministers may be dropped too.

West Bengal’s ruling party Trinamool Congress is expected to announce its full candidate list on Friday. While earlier it was assumed that the list would be released in phases, sources say that party chief Mamata Banerjee will announce the entire list tomorrow. Only a few may be left to be announced, and these are likely to be for seats in the subsequent phases.

Assembly elections 2021 in West Bengal is scheduled in eight phases — from March 27 to April 29. Results will be out on May 2.

Mamata Banerjee has finalised the list in consultation with Prashant Kishor and his organisation. Over the past months, Kishor’s company has received inputs on the Trinamool MLAs from across the state — their popularity, people’s grievances, the work they have done or failed to deliver and so on. The list would be based on all those inputs.

Several actors and other celebrities have joined the party recently, including cricketer Manoj Tiwary, actor Saayoni Ghosh, director Raj Chakraborty, among others. While some celebs will be candidates, there will also be mostly young candidates. There may be as many as 40 new faces — this will include film stars, certainly cricketer Manoj Tiwary, former bureaucrats and so on. Many older candidates, including some ministers may be dropped this time.

Mamata Banerjee herself will contest from Nandigram in East Midnapore, as she has already announced. However, it is to be seen whether she also contests from her constituency of many times, Bhawanipore.