43 Trinamool leaders sworn-in as ministers, including 17 new faces

New cabinet starts functioning in Bengal

Forty-three Trinamool Congress leaders were sworn in as ministers, including 24 cabinet ministers.  There are also 17 new faces in the cabinet.

The list of cabinet ministers includes Subrata Mukherjee, Partha Chatterjee, Amit Mitra, Sadhan Pande, Jyoti Priya Mallick, Bankim Chandra Hazra, Manas Ranjan Bhunia, Saumen Kumar Mahapatra, Moloy Ghatak, Aroop Biswas, Ujjal Biswas and Arup Roy.

The others are Rathin Ghosh, Firhad Hakim, Chandranath Sinha, Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay, Bratya Basu, Pulak Roy, Shashi Panja, Md Ghulam Rabbani, Biplab Mitra, Javed Ahmed Khan, Swapan Debnath and Siddhiqullah Choudhary.

Ten of them took oath as minister of state (independent charge) including Becharam Manna, Subrata Saha, Humayun Kabir, Akhil Giri, Chandrima Bhattacharya, Ratna De Nag, Sandhyarani Tudu, Bulu Chik Baraik, Sujit Bose and Indranil Sen. Those who were sworn in as ministers of state includes Dilip Mondal, Akhruzzaman, Seuli Saha, Srikant Mahato, Yeasmin Sabina, Birbaha Hansda, Jyotsna Mandi, Adhikary Paresh Chandra and former cricketer Manoj Tiwary.

The Trinamool Congress won a landslide victory in the recently concluded Assembly polls, winning 213 of the 294 assembly seats, securing 47 per cent of the total votes polled in the eight-phased election that started on March 27 and ended on April 29. Mamata Banerjee was sworn in as chief minister of West Bengal for a third consecutive term on May 5.