The West Bengal governmenton Tuesday announced seven days of complete lockdown in the state for the month of August.

A decision was announced earlier on complete lockdown in the state for two-days every week, due to a huge increase in COVID-19 cases across the state. After two days of lockdown last week – on Thursday and Saturday, the next lockdown is on Wednesday, July 29. The subsequent complete lockdown across the state will be on the following dates:

August 5 (Wednesday)

August 8 (Saturday)

August 16 (Sunday)

August 17 (Monday)

August 23 (Sunday)

August 24 (Monday)

August 31 (Monday)

Due to several festivals in August, some days of the complete lockdown were changed twice over after the initial announcement made by chief minister Mamata Banerjee.

For example, Saturday, August 1, could not be a lockdown day because of Bakr Id or Eid ul Adha. Monday, August 3, is Rakhi or Raksha Bandhan and August 15 is Independence Day and August 22 is to be marked as Ganesh Chaturthi, and therefore, on these days there won’t be any lockdown in the state.

To receive links to all our stories via messages on your mobile phone and your email inbox, please subscribe to The Bengal Story.

Login Support us

You may also like