8 new ministers in Mamata Banerjee’s cabinet, including Babul Supriyo, Partha Bhowmick

MOS Birbaha Hansda becomes minister with independent charge.

Eight new ministers were inducted into the Mamata Banerjee government today. They were sworn-in at Raj Bhawan by the Bengal Governor La. Ganesan.

Among the new ministers is Babul Supriyo, who was Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP and former minister of state in the Central government. He had switched over to Trinamool Congress and won from the Ballygunge Assembly seat which was lying vacant due to death of minister Subrata Mukherjee.

Others inducted into the cabinet as ministers are Snehashish Chakraborty, Partha Bhowmick, Udayan Guha and Pradip Majumdar. Biplab Roychowdhury and Birbaha Hansda were sworn in as minister of state with independent charge. Hansda was already an MOS, but was sworn-in as an MOS with independent charge. The new ministers of state are Tajmul Hossain and Satyajit Burman.

The big cabinet reshuffle comes after the arrest of West Bengal Commerce and Industries minister Partha Chatterjee on July 23. Chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Monday had announced about the major reshuffle in her cabinet. Chatterjee also used to handle the Information Technology and Parliamentary Affairs departments. Apart from this, departments handled by Subrata Mukherjee and Sadhan Pandey were also to be given to senior leaders of the party after they passed away.

Comments are closed.