Bypoll results out in Bengal, wins for Trinamool

Mamata Banerjee took to Twitter to express her joy.

Results of byelection seats in civic polls were announced in West Bengal on Wednesday with Trinamool Congress winning most of them.

In Siliguri, Trinamool won most of the seats in Siliguri Mahakuma Parishad (sub-divisional council), 22 panchayats and four panchayat samitis. Trinamool also won 117 seats in 22 gram panchayats while the BJP got 37 seats, the Left won three gram panchayat seats and the Congress got six gram panchayat seats. Indpendent candidates won two seats.

Chief minister and Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee took to Twitter to express her joy. “Bengal voters from north to south show once against their overwhelming preference for our Ma-Mati-Manush candidates, while democracy smiles in the hills too thanks to our resolve. Salute to all!”

Apart from elections in the GTA, byelections were held also in six wards of six municipalities in the state in which Trinamool won four, Congress and the CPI(M) got one each.

Comments are closed.