Opposition to call on the President over controversial farm bills today at 5 pm

Opposition political parties will call on President Ram Nath Kovind at 5 pm on Wednesday to take up the issue of the controversial farm bills.

Eight MPs of the Opposition including Trinamool Congress’ Derek O’Brien, Dola Sen, Congress’ Rajeev Satav, CPM’s KK Ragesh and Aam Admi Party’s Sanjay Singh were suspended from the Rajya Sabha on Monday for “unruly” behaviour in the House on Sunday when the controversial farm bills were being passed.

After suspension, they started a sit-in on the lawns of Parliament complex. The Opposition parties on Tuesday said they would boycott the Rajya Sabha proceedings till three key demands were met with, including revoking the suspension of eight members. The Rajya Sabha started proceedings today without the Opposition party MPs.

At a meeting in the office of Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad, the Opposition parties decided to take up the matter with the President and sought an appointment. Five Opposition party leaders have been allowed to meet the President due to COVID-19 protocols.

They are likely to bring to the notice of the President how Parliamentary norms and rules were not followed in the upper house of the Parliament while passing the bills. The Opposition had sought a written voting for the bills to be sent to a committee for review, but it was not allowed.

Comments are closed.