It is Droupadi Murmu versus Yashwant Sinha for Presidential polls

BJP's parliamentary nominated the former Jharkhand Governor as Presidential candidate.

The ruling NDA and the Opposition have both announced their nominees for the upcoming Presidential polls in July. The Bharatiya Janata Party’s parliamentary board has nominated former Jharkhand Governor Droupadi Murmu. She hails from Odisha and will be the first tribal woman to become the President of India. The Opposition parties meanwhile have announced former Union Finance Minsiter, Yashwant Sinha as their candidate.

The BJP’s parliamentary board announced Murmu’s name as candidate. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is part of the board apart from Defence minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister Amit Shah, Highways minister Nitin Gadkari among others. BJP president JP Nadda said that a common NDA candidate for the post had been chosen from among 20 possible names. Nadda said that Murmu was a teacher who later joined politics as councillor then MLA, and became a minister. She went on to become the Governor of Jharkhand.

Sinha was earlier announced the choice for Opposition parties for Presidential candidate. The meeting on choosing Sinha was chaired by NCP chief Sharad Pawar, in which 14 Opposition party leaders were present.

Comments are closed.