“Voted for Trinamool, EVM displayed BJP” alleged voters in South Kanthi, voting disrupted

The first phase of election is being held in West Bengal today.

There was chaos in several booths of East Midnapore’s South Kanthi constituency as election started on Saturday morning.

In some polling stations, voters alleged that even though they had voted for Trinamool Congress, the electronic voting machine (EVM) displayed that the votes had been cast in favour of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). A furious group of people stopped polling in some polling stations of Majna area in the Kanthi South seat. The presiding officer ruled out this possibility though. The office of the chief electoral officer has sought a report on this.

The first of the eight-phase elections in Bengal started on Saturday. In this phase, elections are on in 30 seats of five districts – Purulia, parts of West Midnapore, Bankura and East Midnapore, and Jhargram.

The seats where polls were held today are Patashpur, Kanthi Uttar, Bhagabanpur, Khejuri (SC), Kanthi Dakshin, Ramnagar, Egra, Dantan, Nayagram (ST), Gopiballavpur, Jhargram, Keshiary (ST), Kharagpur, Garbeta, Salboni, Medinipur, Binpur (ST), Bandwan (ST), Balarampur, Baghmundi, Joypur, Purulia, Manbazar (ST), Kashipur, Para (SC), Raghunathpur (SC), Saltora (SC), Chhatna, Ranibandh (ST) and Raipur (ST).

Phase two elections are slated on April 1 in 30 seats, on April 6 in phase three in 31 seats, on April 10 in 44 seats, on April 17 in phase five in 45 seats, on April 22 in phase six in 43 seats, on April 26 elections are scheduled in 36 seats in phase seven and in the eighth phase election will be held on April 29 in 35 seats.

Comments are closed.