Who were the winners of the International Jury Award for 2018 Durga Puja?

The International Jury Award – in its second year – had made great impact in 2018, the very first year in which it was introduced. And therefore, this year is filled with more promise.

The awards are given under three main categories. There are three parts of the Signature Creation category – the first, in which budget is Rs 40 lakh or more, the second in which the budget is between Rs 20 to Rs 40 lakh and the third, in which the budget is Rs 20 lakh or less. There are also awards on being the best Visual Delight, Global Outreach, Exquisite Idol and Soulful Creation.

Now, a quick look at last year’s winners:

Signature Creation 1: Behala Buro Shibtala Jana Kalyan Sangha won last year under this category.

Signature Creation 2: Behala’s Barisha Club puja pandal was the winner under this category last year. Their theme was about the aches of ageing.

Signature Creation 3: Tangra Gholpara Sarbojanin Durga Puja Committee was the winner under this category last year.

Visual Delight: Belgachhia Sarbojanin Durgotsav was the winner under this category. The pandal décor with paperwork and Madhubani painting was simply stunning.

Global outreach: Naktala Udayan Sangha had bagged the award under this category. The theme of their puja was about the passage of time.

Exquisite Idol: Talah Pratyoy had bagged the award under this category. You simply couldn’t take your eyes off the idol. The international jury was no less impressed than the local people.

Soulful Creation: Barisha Sharbojanin won the award under this final category. The creations were based on the Jarwa tribe of Andamans.

That’s not all. There were some innovative works that the jury members were most impressed with, and they received some special awards. Will the same Puja committees succeed in retaining their positions this year, or will there be new award-winners this time? It won’t be a long wait to find out.