Bihar election in three phases: Oct 28, Nov 3 and 7; results on Nov 10

The Assembly election in Bihar will be held in three phases – on October 28, November 3 and 7 — and the results will be out on November 10.

“The world has changed significantly since the last elections were held for Delhi Assembly. COVID-19 has imposed a new normal in our lives,” said Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, announcing the dates. “Life has to go on,” he said, adding that JEE and NEET were held recently. There are 243 members in the Bihar Assembly and elections have to be held by November 29.

Among the many changes that will be seen for the Assembly polls in Bihar due to the COVID-19 pandemic are separate voting for COVID-19 patients, suspects and those on quarantine. There will also be an additional hour of voting during which COVID-19 patients can vote. There can be no physical contact during campaigning.

Bihar’s chief minister Nitish Kumar leads a coalition government in the state with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Kumar’s Janata Dal United is part of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government at the Centre. The Opposition in Bihar includes RJD and the Congress. The RJD is led by Lalu Pradad Yadav and his son Tejashwi Yadav.

[Image representational]

Comments are closed.